Saving Farmland and Open Space

Before I went to bed last night I saw that Mary had emailed me back about the Churn Creek Bottom issue. I collected approximately 40 signatures today and registered to vote in Shasta County finally. It was not so bad, because it was at the farmers’ market and everyone is against building another stupid strip mall. I am going to try to get everyone at work to sign the referendum and the initiative.

I’m proud of all that, but I’m disappointed I didn’t have the energy or courage to go canvas my neighborhood.

I really dislike political activism. I think politics really need to go the way of money, but what would happen if no one did anything and we just let some stupid motherfuckers pave over our farmland? It would be like back east, and it would suck. It does make it easier when everyone is on board with you, so I didn’t really feel like I had to “sell” anything, but our representatives of course no longer represent their constituents, so…

I was pretty much on my feet from 6:45 a.m. to 2 p.m. today. My feet and calves were swollen and achy. I managed to fold two loads of laundry and read some Robert Johnson books that Jeremy has been harassing me about, but I took a nap, and didn’t accomplish much else. I’ve been a little restless since my nap, but no real energy, and still completely unable to be distracted. I just laid looking at the sunlight on the live oaks and gray pine for awhile. The light has an October hue to it. It’s been pretty strange since the CMEs, or since Thursday evening in any case.

I hope that Jeremy comes home tomorrow. It’s been a rough week and my sorrows need comforting.

Leave a Reply

