Rainbow Bright

I most likely am calling in today. For the first time in 3 years I have a cold. Last time this happened I was pregnant and it turned into the flu and a two-month long sinus infection which lasted until about a week after the pregnancy terminated in miscarriage. Unknowing of my pregnancy at the time, I was taking anything so that I could breath and function including ibuprophen, pseudoephidrine, two different antibiotics, even something for acid reflux. No one thought to give me a pregnancy test during all of this, and having somewhat irregular periods I never thought much of the early, light followed by a light, late one without cramps. This was before I was charting my cycle. Anyways, the point being an upper respiratory infection after this interval is dredging up some traumatizing events and emotions. Considering how many times my life has completely changed in the last three years, it’s difficult for me to even conceive of October not being that long ago. How completely my life has changed since meeting Jeremy! While at the same time, the point at which I had left Mt. Shasta last year is fast approaching. Soon it will be a year since I first hung out with my Tennessee boys.

Considering all the energies that were flying around last winter, that I was trying to draw on last vernal equinox… wow! Yet, some things I am still focused on, like sustainable agriculture. I figure this one is the most important, real thing on earth right now. Feeding the people has to come first, and that fuel needs to be good fuel, that is in harmony with mother earth. Hand-in-hand with sustainable agriculture is soil creation. All the other things like watershed restoration, habitat restoration, integrated resource management, renewable energy, mass transit, housing cooperatives, things like Bucketworks; that all comes after sustainable agriculture. If I ever retire from archaeology, it is going to be as a farmer. I might consider taking a break to be a mother again, or throw some other things into the mix again like environmental education or wildland firefighting, but to quit for good, I’d better be raising goats and growing peaches or something.

This season could be the first I’ve grown my own vegetables since like 1996. Gardening with Adventure, right?

Suddenly, the smallest addition produces a drastic change in the system. The emergent phenomena bring unexpected discontinuities and burst open long sealed gateways. Meaningful localized patterns can unfold. When flows of matter and energy sustain a system away from its equilibrium point, it becomes possible for new forms and orders of structures to grow. So be a hummingbird, or an ant, or whatever you need to be. Right now, your tiny drop of water, your one crumb, that’s what could be the smallest addition that produces a drastic change in the system. Choose wisely young grasshopper. Choose love. Choose abundance. Choose radiance. Choose grace. When you love the land you live in, and feel as one with it, how can you allow anything but its nurturance? It is your mother, your father, your first born-son, your lover – all of these is the land in which you are meant to be. Care for it, and it will care for you. Too many have forgotten the unconditional love for their land.

Which brings me to this other strange thing. Some Native Americans are lucky enough to still have some tiny sliver of ancestral land seized back from and wrung from the greedy hands of white colonizing capitalists. Mostly, the non-indigenous ancestors of mine have been in America since before the United States was a country, since before white men ever came to California, since the early 18th century, mostly. But none of my people ever came from or came to California. I am an immigrant. I am a pioneer. What right do I have to be here? And yet, I feel perfectly at home and beyond blessed to be here. What must it feel like to live in the land of your ancestors? How strong then that connection must be! I can scarcely imagine. And even when I have been in the land of my ancestors, maybe due to the discontinuity or the environmental degradation, but although I’ve been moved to tears, there is not this constant awe of majesty, this inherent holiness in every viewshed that immediately sinks into the core of your BEING. This is God’s country. Heaven on earth is here, just beyond the veil, and nowhere is the veil thinner than in this sacred land.

The exciting thing is though, that the Rainbow Brite movie is on instant Netflix. Now if only I had still some Irish cream… really though, it’s getting better. The person we think was ground zero was sick for 14 days, Jeremy for 7 or 8. I’m only on day 4. See the netti pot and EmergenC are good for something. My nose is pretty much cleared up and I just have some cement stuck in the back of my throat and some immune system repair. I’m disappointed my “I’m never getting sick again,” affirmations didn’t hold out for longer, but considering how much ill health can be induced by grad school and having a kid in daycare, I’m glad to be done with all that. Two and a half years with nothing more than menstrual cramps is pretty kick-ass. I also realize from now on, we’ve got to change that to something along the lines of, “I will always be radiantly healthy, as I am designed to be.”

We really, really need a new mattress. I have not slept in a comfortable bed since May. The couch is starting to make my hips ache, which while better than a stiff neck, misaligned spine, or tossing and turning all night – still is not quite what I’m looking for. I’m looking for a windfall that allows us to purchase a mattress I can be comfortable sleeping on, that we can both be comfortable sleeping on.

Of course the story really doesn’t matter anymore, but someone I feel someone confident in trusting, has hinted that the GFL and the G.A. are not working hand-in-hand. Puzzled? Yes! Well… certainly in that line of inquiry with the stargate…. I know we were quite pissed for awhile because it’s as though they stood with their hands tied behind their backs. Nadeanna was like, “I know! I know! Peace, love, blah! You sound like some 15 year-old on ecstacy. You have to shake the aquarium! SHAKE it! Shake, shake, shake. Shake your booty. Shake your booty. Okay, whatever, you guys suck. We’re not waiting for you to take action.” When trying to effect change, in whichever direction that may be, yeah, you gotta shake, gotta. And well, again, we return to the”Politics is for pussies.” “The Lord helps those who help themselves.” It’s all about the blade dance, yo! All about it. We are currently living in revelations, whatever that means, but we are.

Leave a Reply

