The Ghost is Myself

It is reassuring to know that others are experiencing the same type of things.

– Seemingly being invisible in public. People walking right in front of me. Stepping in front of me as if I wasn’t there. No awareness of my presence. ~Ozglasscat~

And brother Zakary posting about the Mt. Shasta lights. Jeremy dreaming about TIME being embodied as a grizzled, wizened smoke jumper. Time is as a being, and HE is out fighting wildfires, a job normally reserved for the reckless youth just hitting their prime.

I turned down the job in Augusta. (It never rains, but it pours).

I still have yet to finish paying my November bills and change my address. I have one more floor to mop in Dunsmuir. Turn in the keys. Leave forwarding information.

Approximately 66 more hours of work. I was going to get up at 4:30 this morning but I ended up going back to bed and falling back asleep. I need some greater physical activity beyond running up and down stairs.

We are going to Chico Saturday for a pre-holiday party. I hear there will be bacon and champagne. This reminds me of Comet. I will get to meet siblings. Shit just got real, so real it’s surreal.

I have a job interview here, Monday for a permanent archaeology position with a private company. Problem is, is that it is a senior position and is almost all report preparation and no field time, so unless they are willing to train/mentor me and unless they are going to pay me A LOT, I probably would want to ditch when the snow melts and we start back up again, but the timing seems perfect and it seems too synchronistic and parsimonious that surely…. we’ll just wait and see what happens. The time is now?

Thanksgiving looks clear weather-wise, so Burns is on. Who knew they got so much snow? Six archaeologists, a former arch tech and a baby. Should be awesome times, another ARL west coast mini-reunion.

I dreamed I got kicked out of the MPL. Like you could only be in the library to do research, not to have coffee clutch hour with your friends. Libraries should totally have cafe areas. There was other weirdness. Like Q, Fortune, Jesse, and Liz were at this bar I thought was a dive bowling alley or something, but they were actually having a shindig for Q’s return to frozen tundra land. However, I was trying to pack all of my shoes and art supplies into my pack, but there were still two boxes, a portfolio, and a coffee thermos. Jake was there and I was asking him to please drive some of my stuff back to Michelle’s. So it was like this dream battle of the ‘light and dark T-shirts’ in MKE and I was just trying to get my stuff out of the way so I could hide out in the library, but both teams were looking for me. There was a message on the ceiling in my parents’ bedroom along the lines of “Your inner light is clean, but your outside is still ugly.” I guess that’s because the apartment is a cluttered mess? Well, recycling, free-cycling, unpacking, shipping, etc. is going to have to wait here for a few weeks. This shit is bananas. B-A-N-A-N-A-S.

Okay, so back to survey notes. I have a lot to get done in the next 8 work days if we are going to Fort Bragg for my birthday.

Leave a Reply

