High Desert

We thought we’d flip the seasons

To bring down this polarity

She is like a lighthouse

A ghostly frontier beacon to me

Lost in faerie tales

We are at home

High desert fades

Back to mountain homes

Feeling the ache of hard times

This sadness overwhelms in spite of sunshine

Autumn jubilation

We’ll grow roses in the snow

Well boy, waiting at the crossroads

This flip and switch by and by

Working your magic

A hot mess smelling sweet down my thighs

I guess that’s why

I call you “honey”

Baby if you don’t object

I’d do anything to make you happy

Anything but leave

This mountain mystic as seen from

cattle range, great basin plains

Will you come home?

Come home to me?

Leave a Reply

