Pests in Perspective

So Liz had bed bugs, or has had bed bugs at their apartment, mainly in the girls’ room. She thinks they came from the Art House. Now I am worried, but unless you are allergic to them, they seem pretty harmless. Cockroaches, mice, fleas, lice, ticks, termites, ants. Ugh! I live in a trailer in the middle of the forest. It is very crowded. I cannot pick all my stuff up off of the floor. There is nowhere to put it. I haven’t finished unpacking yet. I cannot wash all of my clothes in hot water, or I will ruin them. I’ve spent the night at Andy’s and Lisa’s since I’ve been here. Lisa also lives in a trailer in the middle of the forest. Apparently we have roaches at I.V. and I think I found one in my room before I left, which I killed, but, it is disconcerting.

And yet, being transient, I feel there is no way to avoid this. I am working 9 hour days now and there is no time to do anything after work but shower, eat, and try to wind down so that I can get a few hours of sleep before starting it all again. I have the shittiest mattress I’ve ever slept on. I’m saving $3,000 by living here, and not commuting is great too, but there are times when I just want to…. kill things.

And the ticks! Even when there’s not something crawling on me, I get the heebie jeebies thinking that there is. Bed bugs are nicer than ticks or cockroaches or mice, but not okay.

And there are other times, when I just have to admit, I’m a dirty, dirty girl in so very many ways and let it all go with the flow.

I also envision a commercial-free world in which I am unharrassed by commercials and consumerism. No commercials, no money, no pests.

Yes to love. Yes to good food from our good earth. Yes to sparkling water. Yes to temperate climes. Yes to clean pine-kissed air. Yes to creative expressions of light.

Leave a Reply

