Swans

Driving back from South Mil’ today, I saw a swan, a generally out of the ordinary experience. Synchronicity? I’d say so.

8:18? August 18th? Or the street number for Hot Water? Building the nexus, it’s so delicious. I am overcome by grace.

Are you listening? Do you think she’s really listening? Of course! But still I want to be in the presence, be there, but here I am, and it is good. Here, there, and everywhere, full of grace.

According to Jamie Sams and David Carson, who collected Native American tales from elders in the Choctaw, Lakota, Seneca, Aztec, Yaqui, Cheyenne, Cherokee, Iroquois, and Mayan traditions, Swans represented “Grace”.

Swan tells Dragonfly in legend, “I learned to surrender my body to the power of Spirit and was taken to where the future lives. I saw many wonders high on Sacred Mountains and because of my faith and my acceptance I have been changed. I have learned to accept the state of grace.” Swan is the bird who may enter the Dreamtime and bring back knowledge and healing to the tribe. Swan medicine “teaches us to be at one with all planes of consciousness, and to trust in Great Spirit’s protection.”

Leave a Reply

