Nourishing Traditions

I am wondering if anyone has read Norishing Traditions by Sally Fallon and if this is worth reading and/or purchasing.

I am also wondering why spirit does not seem to want me to go skiing today. I feel like I should stay home and read stuff on the Internet and maybe lay on the floor and stretch out my back. I am sort of getting tired of reading stuff on the computer though, but I don’t have that many books here, and none of them seem particularly interesting to me. Kind of like the people here. I am still feeling stuck and lost and lonely. I am trying to figure out why I am having problems doing stuff by myself and on my own. I haven’t had an issue with this since June or so. I am wondering if it is because it is winter, or if it is because I feel that I have lost my link with my Rainbow Warrior. I guess maybe I feel like I keep looking for coping mechanisms. Even if those coping mechanisms keep getting more and more positive, they are still coping mechanisms.

I find this thing of people here too, in Northern California in general, is that they want to be fiercely independent, but to the point at which it is dysfunctional. We were not designed to be purely autonomous beings. We are social creatures. We were designed for interdependent independence. I really feel that I need more deeply intimate relationships with high vibrational, intelligent, creative, fearless individuals. I understand that the population density here is very, very low compared to where I came from before, but rather than this feeling liberating as it did during the summer, I am now finding it to be extremely frustrating.

I did this chakra tuning last night, and it was pretty amazing. I love how at the beginning of each tuning frequency, I could feel that particular chakra vibrating.

6 Comments

  1. Mer said,

    February 1, 2010 at 8:48 PM

    Oh, I like your link to the chakra tuning! Nifty. Maybe I now can get my root and my solar plexus chakras to behave. 🙂

    I haven’t read Nourishing Traditions, but have heard good things about it in the past on a Low Carb Yahoogroup I’ve been subscribed to for ages. If I’m not mistaken, Barry Groves (British PhD in nutritional science) said something about Fallon’s lecture partner, Mary Enig’s, research on sugar as an agent that increases the growth of cancer cells / tumors. He does list the Weston A. Price Foundation in his links, so I imagine I’m not too far off.

    There are friendlier areas of Northern California, though I don’t know how much you’d like them. I know Sacramento people are friendlier in general than, say, people in Davis, who go to great lengths to look through or away from a person to avoid saying hello. I’m not sure you’d find anyone who would meet your level of education and intelligence, in addition to being friendly, but it’s possible, though you might get closer to succeeding in Berkeley. I don’t really know much about the Mt. Shasta area, though I did used to be friends with someone from Red Bluff. Chock full of traditional Christian farm families, from what I gathered.

  2. nadeanna said,

    February 2, 2010 at 3:38 AM

    I think I am moving to Arcata in July and then possibly heading to Fort Collins in December. Dr. John thought I would like Davis for a Ph.D. program, sunshine, and the bicycle friendliness. I guess so far I like Redding and the Humboldt coast the best. Humboldt is cliquey and the education level and intellectual/cultural stimulation leaves much to be desired in Redding, but the climate here makes it so much better than Milwaukee, that I guess I can deal with having fewer local friends.

  3. Mer said,

    February 2, 2010 at 5:17 PM

    Arcata is a nice town. I visited there once with a friend for her family’s winter holiday. Pretty area. (Anything close to the ocean is bound to enthrall me.) Do you have a summer job there? I take it you’re getting your PhD at Colorado State? I don’t remember what your area of expertise is, sorry.

    I can imagine Redding would leave you starving for intellectual and cultural stimulation. It would me. I don’t know that I could take summers there, though. It gets even hotter than it does here in Davis, without the Delta breeze.

  4. nadeanna said,

    February 2, 2010 at 5:26 PM

    I have an archaeology job here through November. I am not going on for my Ph.D. at this point. It won’t increase my earning potential enough to warrant it. I want to go back sometime to get a certificate in geographic information systems because with the two master’s degrees I do have, that would increase my earning potential.

  5. Meredith said,

    February 9, 2010 at 7:37 PM

    I forgot to mention I have a CD of “singing crystal bowls” called Journey to Wholeness. The first track, fifteen minutes long, contains a chakra alignment that I’ve used with and without a guided meditation. You might like it I’ll send it to you if I can figure out how….

  6. nadeanna said,

    February 9, 2010 at 7:52 PM

    That would be awesome. Good luck.


Leave a Reply

